Where to start

Hello, I’ve been using CodeMirror for at least six years and I’ve been following the development of cm6 with much enthusiasm. It really is a beauty. The thing is, because the design is rather innovative and nonstandard, my “traditional” coding skills kind of break down. In particular, once you have gone through the basic examples in the guide, it is really hard to figure out “what my options are” when coming to carry out a task. In OOP, we look at the classes we have available and their methods. In cm6’s gorgeous functional design, there are transactions and I need to find out what facets control what and which transactions carry the corresponding effect. From my experience, I can conclude that this is going to be a huge blocker for newcomers to adopt CodeMirror. Perhaps it would be a good idea to have a comprehensive list of:

• All the facets that are available as part of the @codemirror/ packages
  • All the ways to create transactions. I know of a few (even EditorState.update was a bit hard to come by, and could only be found by scanning the API listing for the main classes, at which point I already knew that I needed to pass it to EditorView.dispatch so I was in the clear, but that was hard to find too, at the beginning) – but I keep seeing different ways to do so in posts.

I think in a transactional model, these are more important than the “javadoc”-style API lists, which users may come to for the synopsis of a particular methods, but do not assist discovery of functionality.

2 Likes

I agree that it is a steep learning curve but worth it. I was confused about this new concept of facets too until I discovered Marijn’s blog article titled Facets as Composable Extension Points. Which I think should be included in the regular documentation or have a link pointing to this blog article as it clears up so much.

1 Like