Adding new line for other users

Sorry I am new to using CodeMirror, and I’m running into what surely is an easy bug. I’m making an online collaborative IDE for a school project. Didn’t want to send entire documents and wanted to just do the updates, but the input event listener doesn’t catch the enter key. Using keydown I can get when the enter key was pressed, I have the index I want to put it but for some reason can’t get the replaceRange function to work, I keep getting “Uncaught (in promise) TypeError: editorView.replaceRange is not a function” in my web console of the receiving user. I’m assuming I’m missing something rather simple like not targeting the right object to call replaceRange on, or not having the correct index/position of where im adding the new line.

Below is the relevant code for this problem.

Javascript file

cmEditorElement.addEventListener('keydown', (e) => {
        if (e.key === 'Enter') {
            console.log("Enter key was pressed");
            list = cmEditorElement.querySelector(".cm-content").childNodes;
            console.log(list)
            let count = 1;
            Array.prototype.forEach.call(list, child => {
                if (child.className == "cm-line") {
                    // Name is not active line, move on
                    count++
                }
                else {
                    // Name matched, call socket to add new line to all other users
                    console.log('New line on ' + count)
                    socket.emit('newLine', count)
                }
            });
        }
    })

socket.on('addingNewLine', (pos) => {
        console.log('Received new line')
        editorView.replaceRange("\n", pos)
    })

Server File

socket.on('newLine', (pos) => {
    console.log('Adding new line')
    socket.broadcast.emit('addingNewLine', pos)
  })

Thank you for any help!