Any webserver Admins here? How should I setup permissions for my CodeMirror tool?

I’m in the process of building a PHP editor using code mirror. I’m confused as to how I should up the permissions on Ubuntu-server 16.04LTS.

My goal is to be able to use this PHP editor to build and extend my websites from the browser itself (thus my only need for work will be the browser). I’m a novice when it comes to Ubuntu, I know enough to be dangerous. My understanding is that I want the permissions of my /var/www/html directory to be writable by the user that runs apache and php, that’s www-data right? So If I chown and chgrp of /var/www/html to www-data and set the permissions to 664 that should give me what I need?

Any tips in the right direction are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Almost - it’s not re permissions of the root only, but the ‘target’ in question. So you could have writeable permissions on the root, but if you’re wanting to update a file and that doesn’t have writeable permissions, that’s what will deny you.

Aside from updating existing files, when adding a new file/dir into a dir, it won’t let you do that if the parent dir doesn’t have write permissions.

In short - if it exists, it must have permissions and if it doesn’t exist, the parent must have permissions. Make use of PHP’s is_writeable to handle non-write situations for you till you figure things out.

Be warned though - I started out building a code editor in the browser myself using CodeMirror as a fun proof of concept and created something in just a few hours. 3000+ hrs and 3 years later I’m still evolving it and have near 85,000 users - https://icecoder.net :slight_smile:

1 Like

Haha no way! I actually tried Ice at one point! Wonderful project man! Kudos and thanks for the advice.

So basically I need to set my whole webroot to writable? Is that how Ice works?