caret color CSS seems locked

I’m looking into how to set the color of the caret. It looks like it’s set at the ‘cm-line’ level with ‘!important;’ added. If I try to set it on anything more general (like ‘cm-content’) then obviously it won’t override this. I could hack the codemirror css with javascript to remove this style, but it seems like there’d be a better way. Not sure what that is, though.
By the way, the css rule that is locking this includes “.ͼ4”. Not sure what that’s for, and it’s kind of hard to google for it. Also, I’m using ‘basicSetup’ as I’m a noob.

The core library doesn’t use !important for caret color. Maybe you’re loading a 3rd-party theme that does this?

The class names with ͼ in them are autogenerated at run-time (and thus not stable, and not something you should target). You can replace them with .cm-editor in your rules if you need to get the same precedence.

I don’t think I’m doing anything too fancy. This is my codemirror.mjs file:

import {EditorView, basicSetup} from “codemirror”
import {EditorState} from “@codemirror/state”

codeMirror.editor = new EditorView({
extensions: basicSetup,
parent: inkEditorContainer
})

codeMirror.getDoc = function() {
return codeMirror.editor.state.doc.text.join(‘\n’);
};

codeMirror.setDoc = function(text) {
codeMirror.editor.setState(EditorState.create({
doc: text,
extensions: [
basicSetup,
EditorView.updateListener.of(v => {
if (v.docChanged) {
codeMirror.onTextChanged();
}
})
]
}));
};

and here’s where the “!important” is coming in (in case it helps):

drawSelection, which is part of basicSetup, hides the native selection and draws its own. So if you managed to override that you’d just end up with two interfering cursors. Style

.cm-editor.cm-focused > .cm-scroller > .cm-selectionLayer .cm-selectionBackground

instead.