How to extend lang-json with a tiny bit of new syntax?

Hi there,

I need to implement support for a custom language that is essentially JSON, but that also allows values enclosed in double braces. Here’s a few examples of expressions I need to support:

{
    a: "prefix-{{Foo.bar}}",
    b: {{Baz.someNumber}},
    c: {{Baz.someBoolean}}
}

I’d love to base it off the @codemirror/lang-json package, ideally without forking. Is there any way to extend lang-json to allow this syntax, or is it perhaps feasible to use mixed parsing and create a lightweight parser for the double-braced expressions?

This is my first time using Codemirror. My understanding of the mixed parsing mechanism is that it evaluates the outer parser first, which I suspect means the full text would need to be valid JSON before the inner parser is able to parse the double-brace expression, so I’m not sure if the mixed parsing route will work for me.

Open to any and all feedback. Thanks!

I think this would require forking the JSON grammar, because there’s no real outer structure for nested parsing to use. But that grammar is less than 40 lines, so it shouldn’t be too much of a maintenance burden.

1 Like

Thanks for the tip, marijn! I took your advice and started trying to copy lezer’s json grammar directly and iterate on it. However, I seem to be stuck at step 1. I’m trying to get the grammar to build with buildParser and am running into a runtime error:

"Unexpected character "\udbff""

here’s a reproduction of the error: demonstration of error from @lezer/generator's buildParser - StackBlitz

I’ve looked at the docs for buildParser and also looked at how it is used in some lezer tests but I am at a loss for why it won’t build.

I would be grateful for any assistance!

You’re not escaping your backslashes in your template string.

1 Like

Many thanks. I have made progress!

With my modified JSON grammar, I can parse text like {"prop": {{Foo.bar.baz}}}